Posted by: maureenc | January 4, 2014

Christmas re-cycled

DSC02656How do YOU recycle Christmas?
I needed to make a couple of cards post Christmas with “left overs”
I’m sure my readers are more than familiar with the struggle to present Christmas food in differing ways to use up the over =catered amounts of food AFTER the holiday, but Postcards??
DSC02651
So I collected some bits and pieces left over from (failed) attempts at embroidering organza for a table top throw;
Some sequins that had been scattered over the holiday table;
Christmas glitter;
Gold, and red ribbons for tying up parcels
strips of Christmas tree shaped sticky tape
Gift tags…..and Christmas fabrics!

For one card, I chose to use one of the not so successful Organza squares:
Discarded table cover squares

The foundation for the card was a silver and white Christmas themed fabric;
To this base I added a gift-tag sticker some red suede Christmas-tree tape and some red, and gold ribbons plus some Christmas themed sequins that had been scattered over the festive table.
Finally I added the Organza layer, which when stitched down allowed the sequins to slide around similar to a “snow globe”
The second card was constructed using Christmas fabrics that have been in my stash for upwards of 15 years, and ribbons that must be at least 10 years old: I chose to make Christmas balls/decorations. Simplistic and tidy.
I hope that the age of the ingredients is sufficient to classify this card as “recycled”!Christmas ornies

Responses

  1. love the idea, I just end up collecting the cards that I like and then don’t do anything with them.. Try to stay cool

  2. Those are adorable Maureen. I love your leftovers

  3. Wow! The cards are festive, novel, money-savers, stash-busters and absolutely delightful. I see no failure in your organza embroidery – it looks perfect to me.
    Well done You!


Leave a Reply

Categories

OrchidNotes

South Australia's Native Orchids

twenty-one words

(tales from the birdgirl)

gentlestitches

the future is in our hands

Eliza Waters

My Own Paradise: Life on Seven and a Half Acres

Technique Freak

Come along and follow me to get inspired!

ATC Exchange

Mini Artworks Flying Around the World

averysmallvegankitchen

A great WordPress.com site

The Village Granny

It takes a Village Granny to raise a Grand Child

Santiago the Shepherd

“It's the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting.”

Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

marcusallanadventures

Seeing the world from a very unique perspective

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

Squarebird 2014 Craft A Day

A topnotch WordPress.com site

morselsandscraps

my Potato Point life

Mabel Kwong

Asian Australian, multiculturalism and diversity

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

dadirridreaming

birds, nature, spirit

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

