Posted by: maureenc | May 14, 2014

Upside down Mushroom and Leek Tart

Life has been a tad hectic lately as I adjust to having my daughter and her two dogs as house mates and consequently no blogging has occurred.
Last night I decided that it “was time” to try out a recipe that I’d had posted on my ‘frig door for about six months ago
It was an “upside down” leek and mushroom tart.
Truly I am sorry that I hadn’t tried it before this as it really was yummy!1-Scan

By the way: have I mentioned that my daughter is a Vegan, and that I’m a total beginner at cooking/preparing vegan meals!
This recipe was not originally vegan, and featured goat cheese.
I knew that Colleen had made some vegan BRIE so I substituted that for the goat’s cheese.(next time I will try her vegan Parmesan cheese for extra piquancy>

Anyway, onto the recipe, and an apology: I forget where or from WHO I printed the recipe. Who ever it was, my thanks for such a tasty meal.

Cooking 35 minutes
Serves: Two people as a main (Maybe) six as a starter.

INGREDIENTS:1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 leek, trimmed and thinly sliced (I used TWO)

2 garlic cloves, crushed
Sprigs of Thyme (I used Thyme paste)
8 small flat mushrooms , trimmed (I used one large Portobello,6 small and half a cup of sliced mushrooms as I was clearing the frig.
Two sheets of frozen puff pastry, thawed.
100 gms goats cheese (I used vegan Brie)
Rocket leaves to serve.

PREPARATION:
Pre heat the oven to 200degree fan forced
Heat the oil in a medium sized oven proof fry pan over medium heat. Add the leek and the garlic and cook 3 minutes until soft. Add the thyme.
Add the mushrooms stalk side down. Increase heat to medium high for about five minutes (I had lid on pan)

Cut a 23 cm diameter round from each piece of pastry and place one round on top of the other round and press together. Spread half the cheese over one side of the pastry round.
Remove frypan from heat.
Place the pastry round cheese side down over the mushrooms, tucking pastry under the mushrooms.
Transfer the pan to the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes or until pastry is puffed and golden.
Remove from oven and set aside for a couple of minutes.
Place a board or wire rack top of the pan and invert. Crumble over the remaining cheese, top with rocket and season with pepper and serve.

TIP

If you don’t have an oven proof frying pan, cook the leek, garlic and mushroom in pan then transfer the mixture to the base of a well greased 22cm(base) cake pan and continue.

Responses

  1. Simple and tasty, you can’t lose, just my kind of cooking!

  2. I love mushrooms, so this tart looks very appealing to me! From your recipe, it almost sounds like it is a pie…it even looks a bit like a pie. I tend to have a bigger serving of mushroom dishes – e.g. mushroom pizza, mushroom sandwich – as mushrooms aren’t very filling. At least for my stomach :D

    • Mabel! The original recipe suggested “only” 8 small mushrooms, and as we really like them I cleared the frig of all in there. Could still have had MORE!

      • Hehe, it can be a good idea to go overboard with mushrooms in cooking sometimes. I love it when the mushrooms come out juicy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

OrchidNotes

South Australia's Native Orchids

twenty-one words

(tales from the birdgirl)

gentlestitches

the future is in our hands

Eliza Waters

My Own Paradise: Life on Seven and a Half Acres

Technique Freak

Come along and follow me to get inspired!

ATC Exchange

Mini Artworks Flying Around the World

averysmallvegankitchen

A great WordPress.com site

The Village Granny

It takes a Village Granny to raise a Grand Child

Santiago the Shepherd

“It's the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting.”

Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

marcusallanadventures

Seeing the world from a very unique perspective

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

Squarebird 2014 Craft A Day

A topnotch WordPress.com site

morselsandscraps

my Potato Point life

Mabel Kwong

Asian Australian. Multiculturalism

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

A Holistic Journey

Finding my way back out of motherhood -- while mothering

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

dadirridreaming

birds, nature, spirit

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

