Posted by: maureenc | December 8, 2010

Today’s mail


Today’s mail brought a UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICES envelope to my mail box.
On opening it I recalled that JaniceS said her post master felt the card might be safer in a sealed envelope.

The postcard (another in Round 11 of Postmark’dArt exchange) was Janice’s No theme card to me.
She chose “Haiku” which is a favourite of mine….not that I’m too successful in composing Haiku.

Both sides of the card were so good…..I had to share both with you.

Posted by Picasa
Responses

  1. Maureen,So glad you liked my Haiku card…that’s my second Haiku I’ve written.There’s a new group on Haiku…I’ve signed up for..right now most members are writing introductions…the first Haiku project will start January 5.

    Description
    Presenting fiber and mixed media art works based on Haiku poems written by the artists themselves.
    This group is about art, both writing Haiku and interpreting it into works of art. Because we want to encourage writing Haiku, and to help everyone get started, the first year we will work on the 5-7-5 syllable poems. There are a variety of Haiku out there and to keep everyone on the same page and keep the playing field level in year one this is the chosen format.

    We will begin with sizes no larger than Journal [8.5 x 11] at least for the first year. Our theme will be extended monthly and will include ideas such as …Month, color and season [which could be month….]. It will be our intent to work quickly … in a 7 day time frame. The challenge will come out on the 5th of each month and be due on the 12th. Late posting is encouraged, however, that is not the intent.

    Questions and interchange of ideas, etc. are encouraged in the group setting.

    A. Carole Grant
    Carol is the leader of this group…I’m not sure if they are still adding members…I can find out if you are interested or you could write to Carol and tell her I told you about the group.

    The Postmaster must have taken my address for off your card and put it on the envelope….I got both your card and Evie’s card back twice..first because I only had 98 cents postage and I really don’t know why the second time…I’m guessing it was because the finger under the extra stamps pointed to my address.

    • Janice
      Thank you for your comments.
      I understand your reference to the 5-7-5 syllables.
      I have searched back through six years of blogging, and could not find my Haiku attempts.
      (I can visualise them, but can’t find them)
      I’ll have to check with ktj………….
      But if Carol will have me in the group…….I am very interrested

  2. What can I say but WOW WOW WOW!! The post cards you've received and made are just gorgeous!! I was able to get the hang of the postcard but not the edges. My machine just wouldn't do a satin stitch on it, and the zig zag looked not so good. They're gorgeous thanks for sharing!hugz:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

