Posted by: maureenc | July 29, 2012

Every stamp has a story

The Challenge was to choose a stamp and then  construct a card to depict WHAT the  stamp represented to me.

I chose an Australian Christmas stamp, because here in Australia some people  have Christmas in July, and as the month of July has nearly passed…….I thought of Christmas in July.

WHY????

In Australia , Christmas is during our SUMMER, which is not conducive to the hot meals that people in the Northern Hemisphere enjoy, so some of us enjoy those  traditional (hot) Christmas meals during our Winter.

When I was much younger my mother used to bake the roast dinner for Christmas Day in a Metters No.2  Wood stove, even if the temperature was 1oo degree Fah.

It was traditional!!

After I was married I started drifting away from the baked/roast dinner towards  cold meats  (Turkey, ham and chicken) with salads.

Dessert would be a Tipsy Trifle,Pavlova and a token boiled Plum Pudding.

July has wonderful temperatures for those baked dinners and hot plum pudding with custard !For the cards, I scanned and printed to fabric ,calendars for 2012 and 2013.

Using  Inktense red pencil I red lined the months  July, added a small piece of Christmas Fabric  and also played with the script on my new machine.

For my second card, once again I used Australian stamps, and as one already was titled UNDERWATER WORLD, I chose to use a fabric featuring fish swimming in and around water weeds, To these cards, I added some Angelina fibre for sparkle in the water, and also some shaggy knitting fibres.

The whole was covered with black bridal tulle and quilted down.

Now to start on my Recycled Clothing cards for Post Mark’dArt!

Responses

  1. the cards are beautiful. I don’t think we have had snow at Christmas since we moved to the mountains.. Usually sunny but cool here. Plum pudding sounds delicious!

  2. Lovely cards, Maureen!

  3. Nice Maureen!

  4. I just LOVE your cards.. I am always intrigued with stamps, so many pretty ones as well as commemorate ones.
    I have a USA Elvis stamp my aunt in Palm Springs sent me when it first came out. Being in Canada that was a special treat.

  5. i LOVE THIS CARD MAUREEN. I HAVE TWO VERY LARGE BOOKS OF STAMPS FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD. MAYBE I WILL EXPLORE USING THEM IN MY POSTCARDS.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

talktokate

Let's do this life thing

Angielynn Photography Art

The Joy of Photography - to express, reflect and respond ...

Subdued Flamboyance

Paradoxes of Life

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

