Posted by: maureenc | September 23, 2012

Spring: and the state of the garden

Clear  and warmer days herald Spring in my area. BUT we are still awaiting Spring showers to freshen up the gardens.

South east Queensland is also under warning that we are due for another severe bush fire season and some decent showers of rain would be most welcome right now—–even if only to refill my rainwater tank!

It was so warm and DRY a week back that in giving my tiny garden a good soaking I emptied the tank!The couple of light showers we’ve enjoyed haven’t even raisedd the water level to the lowest( tap) outlet.

BUT, my gorgeous lemon tree  has once again yielded a bounty of fruit as well as being laden in blossom again. In fact, in the past week I have filled seven shopping bags with fruit and given away via Redcliffe Freecycle. Today I tried to reduce the size of the tree……lopping of higher branches and starting to let a little light into the centre.

The Paw-Paw trees are also fruiting, but the fruit bats and local Possums are enjoying the fruit, as it’s too high up for me to harvest.Besides the native fauna population needs all the help they can get, so the trees stay–for them!

Today, via Freecycle, I was gifted some Shell Ginger  rhyzomes so tomorrow I need buy some potting mix to plant them in.

And yes (eat your heart out Trish) The Stephanotis vine is covered with (flower) buds!

Poor Trish! It was she who gave me the seedlings a few years back and none of her plants ever bloomed.Which is so sad, because Trish is the one with the green thumb; the one who really coddles her plants;me? I plant them and wish them “good luck”. Funny thing though–the plant I placed in a large planter/box has thrived beyond my expectations! The other plant is in a quite large pot, only some six foot away from the bloomin ‘miracle, and if anything it gets more care than the first plant. It has never showed any tendency to blossom …just like Trish’s Stephanotis.

At this time I have no photos to share.  Maybe tomorrow!

Responses

  1. Sometimes plants do best when left alone! Aren’t you lucky having such lovely weather!

    • YES!
      Meta I have lived in other places..and I LOVE this place


Leave a Reply

Categories

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

talktokate

Let's do this life thing

Angielynn Photography Art

The Joy of Photography - to express, reflect and respond ...

Subdued Flamboyance

Paradoxes of Life

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

