Posted by: maureenc | March 19, 2013

Postcard theme: China

ChinaPeace: embroidery on stecil painted backgroundChinaChinaThe theme for my current swap is  “CHINA”.
On Postmark’dArt, they have been tackling the Alphabet, and anything commencing with the current letter is presented.
On PostCard Mail Art, we are tackling countries alphabetically, and these are my offerings under the  China theme.
In the three of the cards, I have used reluctantly , I admit, three die-cut paper forms: Tigers and a dragon. The reason for my reluctance stems from the fact I purchased several packets of these die-cut rice  papers in Beijing in 1998. When I bought them, I had no idea what they were normally used for, or even HOW to use them. Over the years I have found that for me layering them behind bridal tulle worked.
So, here I am  fifteen years later, and almost the anniversary of when they were bought that I have only one or two tigers left: NO peacocks and NO dragons! Two of the background fabrics resulted from using Iridescent  emerald LUMIERE paint over a bamboo stencil, then heat  fixing the dry paint. The tiger on the green fabric has the symbol for tiger (I hope)  figured with Tsukineko Fabrico Markers. The “Peace” card was constructed using the stencilled fabric and machine digitised embroidery.
Two of these cards will bemailed off in the next day or so…….but WHO will receive what?? Until it arrives in the recipient’s mail box, I’m not telling!

Posted by Picasa
Responses

  1. Cool! I really like those.

    • Thank you! I’m enjoying your postings too!

  2. Hi MAureen.

    Thank you for leaving a message on my blog. just getting back into the blogging world, was so nice to see a friendly face commenting

    Hugs & Blessings

    Gail XXX

    • We must try and keep in touch now that we’ve re found each other!


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

