Posted by: maureenc | April 28, 2013

Warts and all!

Two recent themes I attempted to cover in the Postcard format were:

Doors: These two cards were meant to represent my front door!
For the background fabric in both, I used a mono print made with my Gelli plate..
Mixing Neopaque dark brown with  Russet and Titanium white I attempted to have a grainy timber look  for the fabric.
I then used Textiva film cut in a semi circle to represent a coloured glass insert in the upper section (of the door). A fine braid was used to complete the sectioned window.
The braid I used in the upper photo , frankly, I would not repeat this , as it turned out to be too “clunky” for the effect I was hoping for.
A gold button for the door knob and the door was complete!
The lower door benefited slightly from the mistakes in the first card, in that I used a finer cord to outline the window and the door panels.Unfortunetely the round cord was a little un co-operative and my square panels are not SQUARE.

The second theme was ITALY!
PostCardMailArt group are alphabetically visiting countries of the world, and now we are up to “I”.
 I decided to try a collage…a technique that I do not use very often.
I obtained an Italian language newspaper: which unfortunately did not have many colour features in it except on the cooking page where the recipe of the day was “Stuffed Zuccini flowers”.

Using Modge Podge, which was a first for me I collaged snippets of newspaper articles.
I then sewed together the green, white and red of the Italian flag and added them to each card:
And WHOOPS! I’ve just noticed that one flag has been positioned  reversed! I hope that does not insult any readers as it was truly accidental and no insult intended.

Honestly though, I do tend to be a tad dyslexic at times, and I hope that can be my excuse.

I’ll be taking a short break from postcard making, and blogging for a while as I have corrective procedures for cataracts

Posted by Picasa

and I’m hoping that as friends say: Everything will be bright and beautiful in the near future and I see things more clearly

Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

