Posted by: maureenc | April 24, 2014

Mexican Chocolate Cake [vegan]

This looks perfect for a birthday cake!

Today’s blogging by Cakecrumbs arrived at the right time!
Today is my daughter’s birthday, and I was at a loss WHAT to make for a birthday cake to keep a vegan happy…did I ever say how NEW I am at cooking/baking the vegan way??
Madam asked on Facestalk for a particular vegan icecream sandwich cake……..I didn’t have the necessary ingredients.
ok !That’s a cop out…..
But!
I have baked the Mexican chocolate cake and it is cooling on a stand waiting for the next step.

The coconut cream has been boiled (I think) as I have never boiled coconut cream before:
The cream has been added to the chocolate pieces to melt for ganache: something else I have never attempted before, and I’m waiting for the creamy mix to cool to room temperature so I can beat it to “soft peak” and then apply to cake, NO photos because I don’t want you to see the cracks in the cake.

Cakecrumbs

I hope you all had a wonderful Easter holiday. I spent mine with my partner and his family, eating way too much food and trying not to eat all the chocolate too. His brother and sister-in-law hosted us all on Good Friday, and on Easter Sunday his parents did. Both his mother and sister-in-law put on an amazing spread of food that we all ate too much of, and that was before we even thought about dessert.

I bought along a couple of baked goods for the occasion, baking most of it vegan so everyone could eat some. I made a batch of hot cross buns to bring because they’re lots of fun to make, but also because it’s next to impossible to find any here that don’t contain palm oil, especially not vegan ones. And then there was this Easter-themed cake.

Cakecrumbs' Mexican Chocolate Cake 08

Making chocolate cake vegan is so easy. There’s so…

View original post 574 more words

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing this. My birthday is next week and I was wondering if I should make a cake to share. Now I have an idea 🙂

  2. Mabel! If you plan on sharing with people, make TWO cakes and sandwich them together with the ganache
    I had heaps of ganache left over.
    The cake is quite a mud cake consistency, and after having shared an Indian (vegan) meal there was not much room for dessert.

    • That is a very good idea. Ganache doesn’t come cheap and it is delicious. And more cake always puts me in a good mood 🙂

      I hope you managed to finish the cake you made eventually…

      • Being a mud cake it keeps well in the frig. Daughter and friends visiting over the weekend will demolish it ! The ganache isn’t really that expensive: a 200gm block of cooking chocolate and 100 ml of coconut cream…and that will freeze down for use again in the future. One good thing about using coconut instead of dairy….it keeps longer! No waste
        (except settling around my waist if I eat it)

  3. I have a similar recipe for the cake — but it never ends up looking like that. 🙂 It might now though.

  4. Mine didn’t look like that either Genie, as I only made one ring and added no macarons or coconut


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

