Posted by: maureenc | August 24, 2014

Curli’s kitchen

After being gifted some home grown cumquats by a friend, I made some Cumquat Marmalade a few days back.
It’s just as well I have friends who enjoy home made jam, because being a one person household, jams , chutneys and pickles last far too long at my place.

I must admit that it took a few days before I sliced the fruit, covered it with water, and set it aside for the prescribed twelve hours.
THEN, it took nearly a week before I was motivated sufficiently to actually MAKE the marmalade!

1-DSC02871-001

As you can see, four jars of varying sizes were filled. The small jar on top is now half empty.
The large jar has found a new home with friends, and another jar is destined for the friend who kindly gave me the fruit.
Tomorrow is my monthly Book Club meeting, and I look forward to receiving a kilo of strawberries from a friend who lives in the strawberry growing area of Caboolture.
Tuesday looks like being spent in the kitchen.

Responses

  1. Good on you for taking the time to make some homemade jam. Homemade food always tastes best. I hope the jams weren’t too sweet, or that they weren’t sweet enough too, but tasted just right 🙂

  2. Mabel! Thanks for reading and commenting. The marmalade was sweet, but tangy….just as it should be.

  3. I’ve never tried cumquats but even the word sounds good! It’s great to read that so far away you are making preserves, just as I am – damson jam again yesterday!

  4. I too don’t think I’ve ever tried a cumquat, but I had a good laugh when your post reminded me of an old (very long time ago) boyfriend who affectionately referred to me as his “little candied cumquat!” I had so forgotten that.

    The jars look gorgeous, and you’ve prompted me to find some of this jam and give it a try. You’re so industrious….and lucky to have such good friends. Patsye

  5. looks yummy,, It has taken year to finish some delicious orange marmalade that a friend gave us..I think I need more ways to “season” with jams..

  6. These little fruits are worth the trouble! What beautiful marmalade it makes.

  7. Yes! I love the tanginess of cumquats. Strawberry jam is too sweet for me


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

