Posted by: maureenc | September 26, 2014

I come from a land Downunder

Remember me??
It’s been a “while” since I last blogged, I know.
I will blame it all on surgery I underwent back in May: I totally lost my creative urge in EVERYTHING and slid into clinical depression for a time, and now, I am slowly clawing my way back to what passes for normality in me .

Of course, having a deadline of October for mailing my “swap” commitments has helped force me back to “trying” to accomplish things………not that I think these examples are very creative….but it’s a start!

2-Scan-004

For some reason, a song that was on most Aussies lips back in 1982 has been on my mind.
It was later used as a theme song by the crew of Australia II in their successful bid to win the America’s Cup in 1983, and a remixed version appears during the closing credits of Crocodile Dundee in Los Angeles.
Men at Work played this song in the closing ceremony of the 2000 Sydney Olympics, alongside other Australian artists. The song also became the unofficial theme of the Australian team at the Sydney Olympics, with the usually pro-Australian crowd singing along if an Aussie had won a gold medal, especially at the Swimming events.

And after all that waffling, the song I am referring to is the “Down Under ” song by Men at work!

To cut a long story short, I had a print fabric featuring kangaroo silhouettes and boab trees. To this fabric I added Australian stamps featuring either a kangaroo silhouetted against a golden sky, or a stylised outline of Australia drawn in beach sand.

1-Scan-003

2-Scan-004

And those are three of the postcards that are now addressed,stamped, and ready to mail!

I now have six postcards to complete, where the theme is Hand stitching.Three of the cards I have completed the
handwork, so they are ready to be transformed into postcards. The themes I have used have been fans and sprays of flowers
No photos taken as yet, but as October is only four days away…………..!
I need to get a move on.

Responses

  1. Very nice! I was just wondering how you were doing. Good to see you back.

    • Thank you for the welcome!

      • I’ve been concerned. Just didn’t know what to say.

  2. More work than those tiny ATC’s. Beautiful and I wish I was in that swap. Glad to hear you’re feeling better. I know this depression business. It’s not easy – especially these days. Doing these crafts, painting and such, keeps me on an even keel. That and my garden.

  3. Oh gosh! I still owe you an ATC!! I will get on to it I PROMISE!

    • No you don’t. Not to worry. I haven’t sent yours either. I just got a watercolor postcard in the mail today to Greece. Lots of little commitments take up so much time. Slow down, smell the roses, and feel better. That’s what’s important!

  4. Sorry to hear you’ve had a tough time and its great to see you 🙂

  5. Thanks Gilly…All will be good from now on! 😉

  6. These are wonderful creations, wonderful postcards to look at, Maureen. Very symbolic of Australia. I bet it’s fun to piece everything together. So sorry you have been through a challenging time, but very glad to see you’re up and about doing things again. Take care 🙂

  7. Yeah! So glad to see you ‘back in the swing’ Maureen. I remember the song vividly. The postcards are very charming.

  8. I know they will be wonderful. Stay well, hugs Vivian

    Sent from my iPad

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

