Posted by: maureenc | October 13, 2014

What’s new pussy-cat?

After much faffing around, I have stitched two more cards to add to my “hand stitching” for the  Round 20 Swap over on PostMark’dArt.

As I mentioned a while back, I thought I would introduce cats as my theme, after using fans and flowers for the initial four cards.

 

What's new pussy cat?Technically, this handsome fellow is to represent my Abyssinian Sam Wise, but it has been stitched digitally on my Janome  350E. Only the background stitching of flowers and ground marks have been hand stitched.

I also used my Derwent Inktense Water colour pencils to add a shading of colour to the card.

A brass butterfly charm was added to complete the garden scene, and a loopy edged braid was used to “frame” the card

 

1-ScanThis floral pussy cat is all hand stitched.

Adapted from a drawing by Gary Clarke in his book “Cats: Inspiration for Needlework” published in Tasmania in 1994, I love his fanciful stitching when he uses organza over a base cloth to produce a type of  shadow embroidery.

Anyway, this Persian style puss has been stitched with Edmar  Brazilian threads and DMC stranded cottons and rayons, as well as some beads from “The QuiltingMoose” bought some umpteen years ago.

A brass butterfly charm was added in the upper left corner, and some dainty pink and metallic braid was used to frame the card.

Responses

  1. You have a Janome 350E! Holy Smoke….that’s a lotta machine. Lucky you.

  2. Beautiful !,,

    • My fave is the black cat Vivian! xxx

  3. Oh they are lovely!

    • Thank you Gilly

  4. Patsye! It’s too much machine for me

    • The cat is beautiful, so it’s not too much. You make me want to get out my sewing machine. I don’t have an embroiderer – I don’t sew that much (and I don’t have that kind of money) – but it is a lot of fun designing and piecing a quilt or making those ATC’s. I’m glad you’re enjoying yourself, and your cards are lovely.

  5. What nice stitchery and I think they make great cards – that black cat is delightful and I love that it was inspired by your own kitty. We do love our cats!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

talktokate

Let's do this life thing

Angielynn Photography Art

The Joy of Photography - to express, reflect and respond ...

Subdued Flamboyance

Paradoxes of Life

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

