Posted by: maureenc | January 10, 2015

Bling cards

Playing with bling

Playing with bling

I’m very happy to say that I have completed my six Bling themed cards for PMA.

As I wasn’t satisfied with the results from scanning them, you’ll have to wait until I set up the camera and hope I get better results.

Next on the list is a “Gelli” monoprint for Marina in Kiwi land, and then I need plan how to make some “tags” featuring texture.

And several days later I’m back with some digital images of the “bling cards”. I have found that scanning my postcards results in a better degree of perspective, but it doesn’t give a good result for “bling”.

 

Playing with bling

2-DSC02999 This is the completed card, photographed.

Then there were another five or six cards  completed but I won’t bore you with all of them.

The blue card was built on a blue metallic fabric, and using a hand cut stencil I used a bright gold  Lumiere  metallic paint to print “Bling” in cursive writing. A couple of diamanté butterflies and rays of ruby red beads were added, as well as a silver braid for edging.4-DSC03003 For two  of these cards I used a burgundy satin for the background, whilst the other two featured a dusky pink satin. Again, I used stencils to paint in “bling”, and stitched on various beads to add more bling. Gold braid was stitched on as edging for the cards.

3-DSC03000 The final card, with its lavender fabric has heat set Swarovski crystals set around the letters, and again, silver braid for the edging.

Responses

  1. Very lovely, all of them, I wouldn’t have a clue how to begin with things like this!

    • Thank you Gilly! Because I’m lazy I used a stencil rather than hand stitch the word, and then all I could think of for bling was to stitch on heaps of glass beads. Bling is NOT my thing. 😉

  2. Lovely cards, Maureen, very ‘bling’!

    • Thank you Meta. Your copper bowls would fill the bill very nicely too.

  3. Bling may not be your thing, but you’re darn good at it. These are beautiful, and look like an awful lot of work. Thanks for sharing. Patsye

    • Thank you for your positivity Patsye. How’s my Pumpkin ad his sis?

      • Hey Maureen! They are both fine. We had our first “well baby” check up because I found a good vet much closer to our house. They are fine, growing well, and he had no advice on how to calm them down. “They’re kittens, and this is what kittens do,” was all he said, while laughing. I love these kittens so much, but they are a handful! That’s why I’m not painting so much at the moment, but I’ll be back to it shortly – I hope. Patsye

  4. love them, sorry I did not sign up for that.. what fun,,, The fires aren’t near you are they> Stay safe! hugs, v

    • Thankyou Vivian. This will be one of the few rounds in nine years that we have not swapped! I’m safe from the fires……..several states and a couple of thousand klicks away.

  5. Considering that Bling is not your thing, you’ve done a great job, Maureen. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

