Posted by: maureenc | January 17, 2015

Gelli printing chapter two

Yes! I did manage to splash some more paint on the fabric pieces (and myself) and ended up with some back-grounds which accepted dragon fly stencils, where I removed some of the paint from the wings.

 I had used a wiping rag to remove the  excess paint from within the stencil, but I realise now that using a fine brush or even a cotton tip would have resulted in a cleaner line!

 You can see the turquoise base paint showing through in the dragon-fly wings on the right.

Dragon flies

Jewelled dragon flies

Various attemptsThe dragon flies were cut from two different prints, and I used some metallic stranded thread in a back-stitch to outline the wings.

Some beads were added for eyes and thorax to provide some interest.

A backing as well as  machine stitched edging  will be required to complete the Postcard format.

 

 

I then cut a four by six-inch stencilled butterfly from another print. This print isn’t as clearly defined as I would have liked, but once again the turquoise base showed through when the overcoat

of cobalt blue was wiped from the stencilled wings. Butterfly

This  butterfly card also requires a backing as well as a machine stitched edge before it commences its travels as a postcard. This card will be travelling naked in the postal system because there are no wispy threads or beads to get caught in the sorting machinery.

Hopefully in the next week or so, I can tackle the remaining   sheets and produce something more interesting and balanced in composition.

Responses

  1. Beautiful!

  2. Fabulous, Maureen. I couldn’t tell you wiped paint from the wings, flawless. The dragon-flies look very life-like. They look easy to make, but I’m sure a lot of time and concentration is required. After all, craft is art and it takes time to create art 🙂

    • Thank you for your comments Mabel. I do appreciate your visits. I have learned so much from your blog and I frequently cringe when I realize how some Aussies react to your Asian heritage. I thought, no hoped that our multicultural society had progressed past such small minded negativity! (I should be writing this on your blog, shouldn’t I…I wish Melbourne was closer 😉

      • No worries, Maureen. I really enjoy looking at art, and looking at the creative process behind everything, well, creative. Looking forward to seeing more of your creations this year. And thank you for the kind words 🙂

  3. I love the dragon flies Maureen. Pity I am too old to take up another interest, as I think this would be something I would love. I look forward to seeing more of your gelli plating. Claire

    • What is “too old” Claire? You are never too old to try anything.

  4. I actually prefer slight ‘imperfections’ – they add to the texture and visual impact, as well as showing the artist’s hand 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

talktokate

Let's do this life thing

Angielynn Photography Art

The Joy of Photography - to express, reflect and respond ...

Subdued Flamboyance

Paradoxes of Life

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

