Posted by: maureenc | January 24, 2015

Tag it!

 

 

 

 

I know that English is a “living language” and constantly evolving, but I had no idea how many meanings there are for “tag”

The mission, should I choose to accept it, (smiles at remembering Mission Impossible  and Peter Phelps a few years ago

is to construct a couple of tags for swapping with other members of  PostCardMailArt

The tag is to be mainly constructed from fabric and needs reflect the TECHNIQUE

TEXTURE     and SHAPE.

The only problem I have at this point, is SIZE! Do I make a size similar to swing tags found on clothing and other articles for sale in the retail world , similarly sized to an ATC  / business card which is    2.25 by 3.5 inches, or go a tad larger and size it to 3 by 6 inches.

Maybe I’ll cover my options, and do both!

It’s five days later, and I have been playing with ideas……the more I look at the Pinterest tags collections , the more I’m convinced to stay with what I know….i.e. fabric and stitching. I have never been interested in Scrapbooking and tags and things that evolve from paper work and I’m not really interested in starting now.

At this point, I have five pieces all sized roughly  3inches by five inches:

In two pieces I have used fabric that I Gelli printed  recently

1-DSC03031Both measure three by five inches and are from the same piece of fabric

The piece on the right  is an attempt to add varying textures by using  Jo Sonja’s TEXTURE PASTE to create curves across the block.

These were then heat set and over painted  with Lumiere Pearlescent Emerald  paint. The emerald green  face was made using a Sculpey Art doll flexible mold  and some air drying modelling paste, which was also painted with Lumiere paint. I then used some ruffled hand dyed silk ribbon as a frame for the face. Pearlescent beads were stitched to form flowers around metallic blue sequins and seed bead centres.

I have yet to decide how to “finish” the edges and to add a grommet and ribbon.
Gelli printed fabric, Texture paste curves

The other partly constructed tag below  was made using a piece of yellow/green dyed fabric that was resurrected from a fabric bowl that  wasn’t successful.

Did I mention that these tags needed to be constructed from fabric, rather than paper and card?? That makes procedures a bit more complicated (for me, anyway) because, apart from needing a central stiffener like Pellon or TimTex with  heat fusible surfaces to keep the fabric “fixed”, it means that most decorations need stitching rather than a quick dab of glue to attach them to the base fabric. Paper and glue is certainly more time effective!

It also means there are at least layers that will need to be anchored around the edges, where as using paper and card the completed tag is not only thinner, but can have a decorative edge cut around it if one prefers.

Back to the greenish/yellow card: Using  an iron on adhesive (Misty Fuse) . I pressed a piece of woven grass  milliner’s ribbon diagonally across the ribbon. (TEXTURE) I then fussy- cut some butterflies from a piece of fabric which had previously had Misty Fuse applied to the reverse side.

Then small curves of metallic blue sequins anchored with deep blue seed beads were stitched above each butterfly, to provide both  LINE and TEXTURE.

Butterflies are freeFinally, there are two more tags waiting to be dressed;

For these I again used the same fabric that appears in the Butterfly tag. This time, using a spatula and  Xpanda print

I applied some white paste to the fabric, and whilst it was still wet and malleable, I  first tried applying a simple floral stamp to the paste . This did not give a successful imprint, so after removing the stamp I  smoothed the paste to a fairly even thickness , and used a section of a daisy style stencil  that I used a while back for my Gelliprinting.

Using a stencil made it easier to manoeuvre the paste to give clearer floral shapes than obtained from the stamp.

After leaving the Xpandaprint to cure for a while, I speeded up the process by heat setting it with a small heat gun.

Incomplete tags I’ll probably tackle this set, and hopefully complete the others tomorrow.

Stamp applied to fresh Xpanda Print I think this photo shows the stencil feature more clearly.

 

Responses

  1. Maureen, I really enjoy walking through your process.


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

