Posted by: maureenc | May 11, 2015

Still in catch-up mode!

#1

#1

I’m slowly catching up on projects that were delayed by a recent bout of bronchitis, and after I mail these Gelli plate based post cards I will make a start on a “stamped” theme, but more of that later. I have had the basic prints for some time, but I had no idea WHAT to add to them to complete the postcard. Finally I decided that the first one could be used to represent a caged bird  (something which I HATE with a vengeance, as I think all birds should fly free), so the chicken wire of the cage is BEHIND the warbler. I used a honey comb shaped stencil to represent the chicken wire of the aviary.

#2

#2

The second print was made by “splodging” a purple paint as well as a bright yellow and blending both down with white. I then used a wooden skewer to “draw”  simplistic flowers over the fabric. To tone in with the yellow paint I chose to fussy cut a yellow breasted bird and appliqué  it as a focal point.

#3

#3

Card number three, is a combination of two Gelli prints: The background is a combination of blue and  pink paints over which I have scribbled with that skewer again. I then fussy cut a  lavender butterfly from another gelli print to applique as a central feature.

#4

#4

Finally, the fourth postcard! The back ground fabric was a blue which was overlaid over a white paint that had been left to dry. I over painted the white layer with the blue paint  then dragged a plastic spatula over the wet paint to gain an abstract noughts and crosses impression. Once again a strip of floral fabric was  fussy-cut to emphasize the shapes of the crocus flowers and then some tulle was overlaid to add depth to the floral fabric. Maybe I should have attempted to incorporate more effects through successive layers of Gelli prints, but I felt uncomfortable with more than mono printing, and I turned to embellishment to complete the effect. I hope my swap partners enjoy my attempts.

Responses

  1. love the printing on the back ground.. and the birds, would be wonderful with butterflies, I just found some fabric with butterflies.. enjoy your winter. hugs, v


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

