Posted by: maureenc | September 10, 2015

Hats

After not participating in the recently completed Round 22 Swaps of Postmark’dArt  the withdrawal symptoms were “too much” to ignore, and I signed for  completing three themes:

HATS

  FALL

WHIMSY

I first joined Postmark’dArt in 2006, and over the years , and swap rounds since then, I have been fortunate to have been encouraged in my endeavours by some remarkable women:  Franki Kohler, the founding leader of the group has had a book published on the “how to’s” of making Fabric Postcards. But since it was published in 2006 we have pushed the borders from simple patched and pieced blocks to playing with all sorts of combinations

#1

#1

I have just completed my series of six cards featuring HATS for Round 23.

I have used the same principle for all six: a  face outline stitched in black on plain calico, and the same model of hat.(And six hats later, I realise that I didn’t make a black hat!

The main body of each hat was constructed of felt, and the lower “lining” is of a toning cotton fabric. I had originally thought to use some raffia and panama   straw hat type .

It didn’t work!

#2

#2

Hat #3

Hat #3

Hat#4

Hat#4

Hat # 5

Hat # 5

Hat # 6

Hat # 6

Evie Harris from New Zealand has been a wonderful “partner in crime”

I met her via an Australian Quilting and Patchwork web site…way back in 2005 (I think) She introduced me to ATCs (Artist Trading cards) and air drying “paper clay” to make moon faces.

Today I gave a talk: “show and tell” to my Ladies Probus Club about POST MARK’D ART  (Fabric post cards made for swapping) and Evie’s “moon lady” featured in my ATCs (Artists Trading Cards).

Evie, they were “rapt” to hear how we met online; how you showed me new techniques, and how we finally met in 2013 when I was on a cruise around NZ.

Franki! They loved seeing your book………….easy for “non quilters” to grasp the concept. I hope you are updating to include all the fun things we have tried in recent years!

I am so thankful to the Internet, for the opportunity to meet so many wonderfully creative women…..far too many for me to acknowledge.

My next “challenge ” for PMA is” WHIMSY“” The ideas are bubbling round in my brain, but I just need PLAN the cards to obtain a result.

(Watch this space, but DON’T hold your breath!)

Responses

  1. love your hats! I know it is all too tempting. We have met some wonderful ladies over the years, and have some fantastic e friendships. You are tempting me for the following round… hugs, vivian

  2. These hats are absolutely delightful.

  3. OH WOW! These are BRILLIANT!
    I’ve tried to pick a favourite and can’t choose a bestest – so ….
    Hat 1 … looks like the perfect Doris Day hat. Cute, friendly and draws the eye.
    Hat 2 … is probably the hat which would suit me in real life.
    Hat 3 … makes me think ‘Paris chic’.
    Hat 4 … is the hat I’d probably buy and keep in my wardrobe. I’d keep trying it on and wanting to be brave enough to wear it … but wouldn’t ever be able to pluck up the required courage.
    Hat 5 … I sooo wish I was ‘with it’ enough to wear hat 5!
    and finally ..
    Hat 6 … I would love to be able to carry off the fabulous black & red creation, but I feel that it should be worn by a very chic, very pencil thin Parisian woman who can wear high heels all day long and sleek black dresses which hang perfectly on her.

    Summing up … I’m rubbish at wearing hats. But I love all of these!

    Way to go, you clever milliner! ~ Cobs. x

  4. Maureen, It has been wonderful getting to know you over the years. You are always so upbeat and inspiring. Love the hats! On my bucket list: You, Evie and I meet somewhere. xo

    • Roll on the day ! Franki.

  5. Wonderful hats, and wonderful you could share your experiences with Probus. Do you think we wear hats as much these days?


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

