Posted by: maureenc | December 20, 2015

Christmas is coming

Fabric coasters

Where has the year gone? Only five days and it is Christmas!

And Christmas means gifts…….for other people!

Apart from family, I have a few friends that I like to surprise with small parcels; Some small hand made quilted or stitched piece and a selection of home baked sweet or savoury  biscuits (as we call cookies down here in Australia) and maybe a jar of home made jam or pickles to keep the friend’s husband happy at being remembered!

Fabric coasters

Fabric coasters: Whether they are Christmas themed, or just sewn according to the colour way chosen, Fabric coasters are a personal gift to tell someone that you “care”

Take SIX 5" squares

Take SIX 5″ squares of fabric: Choose a theme (Christmas) or a colourway (Autumn was my choice)

Leave TWO squares UNFOLDED! These will be the base of your block’

Fold the remaining four squares across the diagonal  into  triangles(see photo)

 

 

DSC03357

Lay two folded triangles on the base to form a square

Use the remaining two (folded) triangles across the first triangles to cover remaining corners.

Interweave these triangles, so that one section is in the superior position and the other goes UNDERNEATH the partial triangle that it covers.

Repeat in reverse for the opposing (large) triangle.

Fabric coasters

Stitch around the square outline, using a 1/4 inch seam allowance. Clip across the corners of the square to reduce bulk of seam.

Fold the triangles IN on themselves, until all raw edges are contained within the square. Use a steam iron to press the shape firmly.

POTHOLDERS

Susan asked for placemats, but she is getting these heart shaped pot holders in her favourite colours.

The placemats will be gifted, “sometime” in 2016!

Three heart potholders

I found the pattern via Heart shaped potholders

But I wasn’t happy with the instructions and adapted them to suit myself as I found the directions a little vague (as you might find mine) VBG

The initial directions a la Martha Stewart were to cut three 12 inch squares of cotton batting;

12 inch squares of cotton fabric

then there are THREE templates:  One to provide TWO full hearts  (fabric)

One, slightly smaller, to cut the batting

One to serve as template for the sleeve or smaller section.

I found that the initial templates were wasteful and  I adjusted them to suit my needs .I also found that the directions given were not clearly explained, but, who cares! I used the templates “my way” which meant that one potholder had pockets to enable using it as a pot mitt. and the other two were not so adaptable.

I have not given alternative measurements, because I assume that my blog readers are capable of adapting  patterns to their requirements.

 

I constructed three potholders for Sue:  One I forgot to allow seam allowances (red face)  It resulted in a slightly smaller size than the other two. (only by roughly one quarter inch over all)  No big deal.

I used a button to “anchor” the loop (for hanging)

I felt it gave a point of interest to a rather bland patchwork piece.

The fabrics were purchased via APQ site and bought because of their toning/blending patterns and (colour) shades.

I have enjoyed using them in both the place mats; the Coasters, and the potholders.

I have yet to employ the blue toning fabrics, but…. I plan on using them shortly for another set of PlaceMats

 

So, that’s my Christmas stitching complete. Time to making the edible goodies:!  One recipe I’m looking forward to trying out is a (vegan) Mango Turmeric Cheesecake. The weather looks like being hot! hot! HOT here. So no hot meals. Definitely no (hot) Christmas pudding.

I think the cheesecake should go down a treat……….Hi ho ! It’s off to the kitchen I go.

Responses

  1. These are all terrific, Maureen. Might have to try them and put away for next Christmas. thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

