Posted by: maureenc | December 20, 2015

Placemats

DSC03360 DSC03361 Two of the place matsSuch a silly way to get side tracked! A couple of days ago, I changed the tablecloth from my usual colour scheme, and in doing  so, realised I had no placemats that toned in with the cloth!

So, instead of staying with my plan to complete a 10 inch square quilt that needs to be completed by November 30,

or making those half dozen post cards theming Autumn………..

I created havoc in the sewing room, and the dining room by auditioning fabrics to make a set of place mates. Yes…..I knew the colours I wanted to employ, and YES I had a rough idea how I would stitch them. What else did I need!

(Time is the answer……….in case you were wondering!)

I chose to feature a block of a floral fabric on each of the mats

I chose to stitch  the strips of fabric to the batting and backing fabric to achieve a “quilt as you go” effect .

(WHY do extra steps when you can be economical with your time!)

I used a straight cut, rather than bias cut binding strips to “finish” the edges.

These mats were made with practicality rather than “art” in mind, so all finishes were machine stitched. That way they can be tossed in the washing machine rather than requiring gentle hand washing.

As a result of seeing the mats, one friend asked for a set to be made for her in similar colour way.  NO place mats for her at the moment, but some cute coasters have her name on them for Christmas. Maybe the New Year will see her receive the place mats.

The coasters and  some “practical” pot holders feature in the next post

Responses

  1. Very well done Maureen. Everything about them is lovely.

  2. Thank you M! I seem so often to get side tracked AWAY fromCQ stitching

  3. Very pretty Maureen! Sometimes you just have to go with the distraction — it can be the most productive and satisfying course of action!

    • Thank you Gilly! I did find it a bit of a hassle keeping the folded pieces to an accurate placement! Folding a square of fabric across the diagonal results in a stretchy. bias . I must admit I found it a tad frustrating at times (says me rolling my eyes)

  4. Love the color and the off center design

    • You know me Vivian! Always “off centre” lol

  5. They’re really lovely and you make it sound so simple!


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

