Posted by: maureenc | March 15, 2016

Don’t you love online friends!

Maureen B and I have been online friends since about 2002, and she is one of the reasons I blog my stitching attempts, because I know that when I have a technical problem, she will always be able to offer some sound advice.

Below is an email I just received with comment on my chatelaine blocks.

And you know? she was spot -on in her comments!

I could live with the Pin holder and the needle book cover, but the Scissor keep ..

Anyway, read what Maureen suggested. and then read my reply below her comments.

 

I just viewed your blog and chatelaine set.  I thought the triangle worked in well and I like the floral centerpiece too (in both pieces).

I wondered about the scissorkeep though.  The floral piece could disappear altogether when turning after the seam is sewn or embroidered over.
Is it possible to expose it a bit more?  which would mean shifting the tacking too.

Just my two bits which you can totally ignore.

I took prints of Sharon’s freebie CQ blocks, mininized them, cut them out and near became demented as I could not get them right. In the end I scrapped them, did my own thing, with lots of trial and errors as, like you, it’s been a loooong time since I did something as small.  I stuck with Linda’s 5 sided piece in the centre too.

I hope you don’t think me rude, so I’ll send a hug along as well and the interference

My reply :

Hi Maureen
Not interference at all! What you said is PRECISELY the reason why I want to remake the scissor keep. Maybe I get position that floral piece centrally and then I have a “theme” showing in all three pieces!
You should know by now that I always appreciate your input.
Every time I get constructive criticism like this, I know how blessed I am to have friends who will share their knowledge and friendship.
Thanks Mii.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Very good observations – and on you go….!

    • Thanks Myfanwy! 🙂 I hope your health problems are easing?

      • Getting more complicated , but will be ok in the end. Thanks for asking.

  2. How lovely to get such positive helpful input!


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

