Posted by: maureenc | April 28, 2016

SCC: Round Robin

Glasses case block

Glasses case block

It’s just as well I nominated to be a “tortoise” in the current round robin on SouthernCrossCrazies, because I would surely be nominated as the slowest of the slow.

I must admit that stitching hasn’t been a priority the last month or so, as I adapted to being on the executive of a Ladies Probus group and needed not only to organise an Installation , but also to find new meeting facilities and plan an Installation Luncheon.

I also needed to get some inspiration to stitch and embellish the several naked blocks comprising a needle book,a pin holder, a scissor keep and a gorgeous block destined to continue its life as a glasses case!

I was the first to receive A’s blocks and no matter how hard I tried, inspiration just wasn’t coming to me!

(Particularly for the Glasses case block.)

Finally, I planned to back stitch heart outlines and fill them with silk ribbon flowers and a few beads for extra effect.Unfortunately, the heart outlines were swallowed up by the silk ribbon flowers I added.

This plan also gave me the incentive to dye some silk ribbons, something I haven’t done for the longest time. I dyed some pansy , Lavender  and blush pink. I still had sufficient green ribbon from previous dyeing days

Below that seam treatment, I used two strands of Marlitt Decora in a turquoise to chain stitch  above and below the seam line. In each curve I then stitched a turquoise seed bead flanked by a pearl “rice grain” bead.

Just when I thought I had finished with this block, I remembered some pale grey tatting that I thought might help the eye to travel down from the beige broderie motif I had added in the upper right hand corner! Now it was time to stop and leave room for my other “tortoise” friends to stitch up a storm

Glasses case block

Glasses case block

Time to tear myself away from this block, and start on the Pin-keep block!

Arlene constructed a circular block consisting of four segments, with finished diameter of  three inches for the Pin keep..

So easy to be over enthusiastic and cover the entire block!  But I restrained myself 🙂

 

Using an Edmar (Iris) thread  # 167 I chain stitched a dusky pink stem to which I added blossom pink SRE  rosebuds and leaves, plus silver charm leaves.

Then  nearly perpendicular  to that seam I  again used the turquoise Marlitt thread in a fly stitch.

A gold cat charm was then added over some blossom pink petals on the palest fabric block.

Arlene's Pin-keep

Arlene’s Pin-keep

Finally, I stitched the Needle-book block!

In retrospect, it was actually the first block I worked on, rather than last.

Using a variegated green Iris/Edmar thread and using SharonB’s CQ stencils, I  stitched some baseless triangles above a seam. Below each “hill” I added a trefoil in palest pink rice beads, whilst in the “valleys” simple lazy daisy flowers were added….again using Edmar (Iris weight) threads.

A cream braid was laid over the seam line of the cream patch, and small pearl beads  added to the centre of the braid.

There is still a fourth naked block that I have not stitched upon: the Scissor keeper!

Because the patches in these blocks are so small, I felt that I shouldn’t hog all the blocks. (So easy to do, when the patches are so small. I hope Claire and Arlene are content with the areas I have left untouched!

Now to send the blocks travelling again. It will be interesting to see the completed project in a month or so.

Responses

  1. Very pretty work 🙂

  2. Your work on the glasses block and pin-keep is all beautiful. Arlene will be happy.

  3. Slowest of the slow…but you have made so much progress, Maureen. I love the bright pastel colours you used. Your craft looks so lovely and good to know that you kept at it 🙂

  4. Such lovely work Maureen. And beautifully described. Can’t wait to receive them next.
    Claire


Leave a Reply

Categories

aussiebirder

Welcome to the appreciation of Australian birds and the love of birdwatching, sharing bird sightings, photographs, personal experiences and helpful information.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

