Posted by: maureenc | January 22, 2017

Where did Christmas go?

Twenty-seventeen is twenty two days old, and it’s the first time I have opened KenMaursCorner to add new content!

Christmas passed very quietly, as except for my daughter and myself the rest of the family were holidaying in Fiji; Colleen was only four days post-op after major surgery, so our celebrations were very low key. Thankfully she has recovered well and will return to work early in February……….I wonder how her fur-babies will react to not having her company  24/7.

My belated New Year’s Resolutions were to embark on the “Year in Stitches” challenge  instigated by Susan Robin Sorrell https://www.facebook.com/groups/ayearinstitches/

I didn’t commence stitching until January 5 and progress has been very slow……I certainly have not put needle and thread to fabric every day as other members of a year in stitches apparently do.

If I  do need an excuse, I guess that the lure of reading a page or three of whatever book I am currently reading is valid. Also , Australia is now “enjoying” Summer. I use the term enjoying very loosely, as most of the eastern states have been sweltering in heat wave conditions, and as I am not a fan of AC except in extreme conditions, my sweaty hands don’t go well with fabric and thread.

A year of stitches

A year of stitches:

The first steps were to divide a twelve inch square of dress-maker’s calico into a two inch grid. A chenille thread was couched down to the fabric to form the trunk of a palm tree, then fly stitches formed the palm fronds. Blanket stitch was added to represent the sandy island.

1-scanI have used chain stitch plus straight stitches to represent the sea.

The stacked stem stitch in blue rayon in the lower left hand corner is a WIP–hopefully an example of Morning Glory blossom.

Responses

  1. Good luck to you and your family this year. I like summer, but I feel sorry for others who are not fans of the heat. It can be hard. Stay cool and hopefully you can get more stitching done soon 🙂

    • Thank you for your good wishes Mabel. I find Summer bearable when it is a dry heat, but Brisbane always has a relatively high humidity in Summer and I tend to hibernate ……Of course if I used the AC!!!! But I prefer an open, “breathing” house to one which has al windows closed.

      • I actually prefer a humid heat as a dry heat makes my body feels like it’s on fire. We are having a dry summer heat here in Melbourne, and maybe you would prefer that over to your kind of heat up there!!! I too prefer an open house sans AC – fresh air is the best.

  2. So you stitch a square each month? I don’t want to wish the year away but do look forward to seeing your progress.

    • As is usual for me Gilly, I rarely follow protocols suggested. I marked the two inch grid mainly in an attempt to “keep things tidy”. I still havent worked out whether one is meant to stitch each day: that doesn’t work for me as I find myself too easily distracted by other diversions (mainly reading) The work the other participants are doing is mind blowing. I just tonk along at my own pace when the spirit moves me.

  3. Have a happy New Year! love seeing your projects.. I did a little hand work, but for my hands better to do most on the machine. Hugs. v

  4. Maureen, I love all the stitching you’ve done. The whole palm tree, sand and water are enticing enough to want to be on the little island.
    All the best to Collen for a healthy recovery and future.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

Cecils Pride

News Blog and Resource Page To Fight Poaching World Wide

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Be Creatively ...

... because the worst enemy of creativity is self-doubt

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Cobweborium Emporium

Creating a magical, wide webbed world, one beautifully handmade item at a time. ©

American Princess

A love story based on real life events!

86 Lemons

Plant based recipes, projects & products

The Tag Lady

Crafty creations using buttons,brown paper and string (amongst other things).

silkannthreades

about the little things in life

talktokate

Let's do this life thing

Angielynn Photography Art

The Joy of Photography - to express, reflect and respond ...

Subdued Flamboyance

Paradoxes of Life

The Ninth Life

It's time to be inspired, become encouraged, and get uplifted!

