Posted by: maureenc | August 20, 2011

Post card collages

Isn’t it weird: We do so many forms of colaage in in fabric art, using applique and embellishing (amongst other things), but label it COLLAGE and I go into a blue funk.

These cards are my first attempts ever at a “dedicated collage postcard” and compared with the ones I have received, I have failed dismally.

Needless to say, I have now ordered a book to give me some guidance.it should arrive in the next day or so, and then, maybe then I can rectify my mistakes.
I should have added that the base/background was from previously constructed
“paper  fabric” and the first three cards were parts “lifted” from old  DESIGN Graphics magazines featuring Ileana Fro’meta, a Carrribean painter.

The orange wigged girl is celebrating the EKKA ( the annual  Brisbane Ag Show) or what I guess my American friends would call their State Fair.

Cards # 5 and 6 also were made with the help of another old DESIGN Graphics mag

Card #7 : No real theme.

Posted by Picasa

Responses

  1. Maureen these are so colorful and cheerful – what a treat to learn about your postcard adventures! ShereeSews in Michigan


Categories

SCAD Research Inc Australia

Together we CAN beat SCAD Heart Attacks!

Cat Cuddle Cafe |Brisbane|

PAWSOME CAT CUDDLING SPACE FOR CRAZY CAT PEOPLE

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Sweet Pea Machine Embroidery Designs

In the Hoop machine embroidery designs

aussiebirder

Welcome to our website for the study and appreciation of Australian birds and their interesting behaviours.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Art of Cobwebs

aka The Cobweborium Emporium