Posted by: maureenc | August 6, 2015

To intersect or to converge?

Several weeks back over on Being Creatively (a private FB group) Myfanwy suggested that we “play” with intersecting stripes as a preparatory step to making a fabric postcard. I have been interested for some time in Ricky Timms method of “convergence”, and wondered if it would work with a regular striped fabric rather than batik type of irregular striping. So……..I pulled  two striped fabrics from my stash, cut several different widths  of the fabrics and proceeded.

Hummingbird

Hummingbird

Although I achieved a pleasing (to me anyway) pattern, the results were not what I hoped for: You really need the fluid lines  of a batik print cut into varying widths, plus another pattern :maybe a bright floral to counterbalance the muted shades of the batik……….I do know that my choice didn’t work.  😦

Sequins

Sequins

But I will  try  to “converge” again with different fabrics, another time. However, not being happy with either of the preceding  cards, I decided to relax with a spot of silk ribbon embroidery: Silk ribbon flowers I used  iron-on black   tape for the stained glass effect “frame” and a black crochet thread in Cretan stitch to frame the lavender fabric. Silk ribbon embroidered flowers spiced with seed bead centres and sequin leaves were added to complete the card.

It is so long since I did much handwork that I am finding my fingers joints are not as supple as they should be. It’s just as well  that I am trying to keep up with the TAST challenge this year. Now that my card are ready to mail out, I hope to catch up on LAST week’s  TAST exercise, which was FEATHER stitch. My usual story………I wanted to work several variations of the stitch, and so far I have only worked the basic stitch. It’s just as well that Sharon isn’t a severe task master!


Responses

  1. Nice ribbon work! Keep up with the basic stitch and when time allows doodle variations for postcards.

  2. Seriously. Wonderful.

  3. Thank you Diana! How are you surviving your Summer?

  4. Ha ha ha. I’m here!! Actually got my post out, the one I only tried writing all summer but for the small matter of time. The guys were out most of the day. Just got back in. Right after I clicked “publish”. =)


Categories

SCAD Research Inc Australia

Together we CAN beat SCAD Heart Attacks!

Cat Cuddle Cafe |Brisbane|

PAWSOME CAT CUDDLING SPACE FOR CRAZY CAT PEOPLE

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Sweet Pea Machine Embroidery Designs

In the Hoop machine embroidery designs

aussiebirder

Welcome to our website for the study and appreciation of Australian birds and their interesting behaviours.

Nature on the Edge

Wildlife photography along the urban edge

The Done It List

Not just another travel/lifestyle blog

Love Those "Hands at Home"

Celebrating the Human Touch

Green Life Blue Water

Where Eco Meets Life

Joys of Joel

The Poetry of My Life through My Writings and Journeys

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

snippetsandsnaps

Potato Point and beyond

Make My Day Creative

Exploring things crafty, crochet, and beyond

Little By Little By Bossymamma

The crafty shenanigans of Bossymamma

The Art of Cobwebs

aka The Cobweborium Emporium